The beginning…

So last week I finally got my package of raw ingredients in the mail! I was so excited because I had been waiting for what seemed like forever for it to come, only because I “had” to order something that was on back order. I have to say the staff at Voyageur Soap and Candle Co. – in Surrey, BC, are amazing. They have amazing customer service, and they have so much to choose from, that I feel like I never have enough. I’m always wanting to create new recipes!

So as soon as I opened my package I had to make something! So the first thing on my list was a new diaper cream recipe. I had made one a couple months ago but it just wasn’t what I wanted. Because I use cloth diapers on my LO, I wanted to make a cream that was safe on cloth diapers and also worked great on diaper rashes. So I did some research on oils and other natural ingredients and came up with a recipe I thought could work. I’ve been using it on Lainey for a good 4 or 5 days, and had not used any diaper liners. I never use diaper cream without using a liner! It’s a major no-no with cloth diapers (unless your using a cloth diaper friendly cream). But the only way I would find out if my recipe worked on cloth diapers was to tough it out. And if it didn’t work then I’d be doing a lot of scrubbing to get it out. So I crossed my fingers and hoped it would come out clean. And……..

So after washing them I inspected each and every diaper. Every single one came out clean, with not one stain! I have to say I was pretty excited. So excited that I had to write about it ๐Ÿ™‚

Now that I have two recipes that I have created, that work amazing on my little girl’s skin. I feel confident to pursue my new venture. I hope this is the beginning of something great! After some research and brainstorming I think I have come up with my product name.

nu.babee

I wanted to incorporate the word ‘bee’ in the name as every product uses either beeswax or honey, or both. I believe in using only the best ingredients in my products. All my products are free off: parabens, harsh chemicals, dyes, petroleum, talc or phthalates. Some of my favourite ingredients I use are: beeswax, honey, coconut oil, calendula oil, shea butter, olive oil and vitamin E.

So, I hope to get everything going in the next couple months, and give out samples to friends and family. In addition to my soothing balm, I’m also working on a lotion, baby oil, baby powder, and for the mommies a belly butter and lip balm. I’ve already made a ‘test’ lip balm that has honey, and it sure makes my lips super smooth!

I have a lot of work ahead of me! But I’m super excited. Come back to see how my next recipes go.

Take care!!

Leave a Reply

