7 Different Uses for Coconut Oil

Okay so the one thing I’m totally obsessed with right now is Coconut Oil!  I love it!

coconut oil image

I had no idea how many ways you could use Coconut Oil.  I first started using it on Lainey on her eczema, as I heard that it can help with keeping the skin from drying out and getting eczema breakouts.  I started using it and it helped for a bit.  However, then she started scratching and it got so bad that we had to resort to a prescription.  I’ll have to try it again after I have her eczema under control again.

Then I started using it for myself as I have very dry skin too.   Here are some other ways I’ve discovered to use Coconut Oil:

7uses

Eye Makeup Remover

This works awesome for removing eye makeup!  Not only is it great for your eyelashes but it moisturizes your face at the same time.  What I do is splash some warm water on my face then take some Coconut Oil on my finger tips and rub eyelids gently.  Then I take a cotton eye pad and wet it a bit and then remove the eye makeup.

Shaving

I don’t know why but I hate using shaving cream.  For the longest time I would use conditioner to shave my legs.  Then when I discovered some useful ways to use Coconut Oil, I thought why not use it to shave.  After I first tried it and got out of the shower I couldn’t stop touching my silky smooth legs.

Natural Deodorant

Did you know that you can use Coconut Oil as a natural deodorant?  Well I first discovered a natural DIY deodorant using Coconut Oil, baking powder and essential oil.  It smells great but for me personally I don’t think there was enough coconut oil for it to work like I wanted it to.  So then I just used Coconut Oil and loved how it worked.  I’ve heard so many bad things about antiperspirants that when I was pregnant and breastfeeding I really didn’t want to use it so I wanted discover an alternative.  Plus coconut smells great.

Lip balm for chapped lips

This is great for moisturizing lips.  It works great like Vaseline.

Moisturizer

You can use Coconut Oil as an all over moisturizer.  I bet it would be great for moisturizing stretch marks.

Hair

You can use on dry split ends or for frizzes and researched that it can be good to use as a hair mask.  Though for me I found it just left my hair greasy when it was done.

and of course Baking!

One thought on “7 Different Uses for Coconut Oil

  1. Pingback: 13 Reasons Why Coconut Oil is the Best Thing in the Whole Entire World | Musings of a Modern Hippie

Leave a Reply

